News, Newsletter

AVIXA Award Winners Revealed, To Be Recognized At InfoComm 2020 Connected


AVIXA has announced the 2020 recipients of its annual awards. Honorees will be recognized in a virtual ceremony during InfoComm 2020 Connected on June 17 at 5 p.m. EDT.

The AVIXA Awards recognize AV professionals for their contributions to the industry. Members of the industry nominate individuals for the Adele De Berri Pioneers of AV, CTS Holder of the Year, Educator of the Year, Fred Dixon Service in Education, Mackey Barron Distinguished Achievement, Women in AV, and Young AV Professionals awards. New for 2020 are the Emerging Talent and Event Design of the Year awards. The Harald Thiel Volunteer of the Year Award is bestowed by AVIXA staff.

“Day in and day out, AV professionals leave impressions on the people they meet and the spaces they help create,” David Labuskes, CTS, CAE, RCDD, CEO, AVIXA, said. “Each year, AVIXA is honored to shine a spotlight on individuals who are helping the industry grow, whether it’s through teaching, breaking down barriers, or pioneering new technology and ideas. Congratulations to the 2020 AVIXA Awards winners and thank you for all your contributions to the AV industry.”

The winners of this year’s awards are:

  • Adele De Berri Pioneers of AV Award
    Bruce Howze
    Fellow Engineer, Biamp
    President and Founder, Community Professional Loudspeakers
  • CTS Holder of the Year Award
    Mark Higgason, CTS-D, CTS-I
    Executive Vice President and Partner, Encompass Audio Visual LLC
  • Educator of the Year Award
    Jonathan Brawn, CTS
    Principal, Brawn Consulting
  • Emerging Talent Award
    Edinys Guzman
    Student, Lincoln Tech
  • Event Design of the Year Award
    Meredith Francsis
    Senior Creative Producer with BlackOak Technical Productions
  • Fred Dixon Service in Education Award
    Steve Thorburn, PE, LEED-AP, CTS-D, CTS-I
    Principal, Thorburn Associates
  • Harald Thiel Volunteer of the Year Award
    Lisa Perrine, Ed.D.
    CEO, Cibola Systems
  • Mackey Barron Distinguished Achievement Award
    Ben Adams
    International Representative, IATSE
  • Women in AV Award
    Sarah Becher, CTS-D, CTS-I
    Project Engineer with AV Calibrations, LLC
  • Women in AV Award
    Melissa Ross, CTS
    Senior Engineer, Special Projects Group, AVI-SPL
  • Young AV Professionals Award
    Sean McChesney, CTS
    Experience Technology Consultant, Electrosonic
  • Young AV Professionals Award
    Gregory Rushton, CTS-D
    Vice President, Muley & Banani Audio Visual Inc.

To see more news from Sound & Communications, click here.

Previous ArticleNext Article
Send this to a friend